Sticka! / Knitting! (YOP #10)

YOP (3rd) Banner

(For English, scroll down to the pictures)

Den här veckan har varit en riktigt skön vecka. Jag har haft mycket tid på jobbet och kunnat planera och faktiskt till och med vara lite i förväg, vilket också innebär att jag inte alls varit lika trött. Det blir bättre och bättre, helt enkelt :) Förutom att virka vidare på mina filtar så har jag gjort ett stort framsteg denna vecka. Jag har börjat sticka! (Igen. Jag har stickat förr, men aldrig liksom kommit över tröskeln). Det började med att mitt bambugarn jag hade beställt kom med posten, Schachemayrs Cotton Bamboo Batik i två nya färger. Först gjorde jag en virkad nyckelgömma att ha jobbnycklarna i, praktiskt och bra men inte särskilt inspirerande. Fasta maskor i spiral, klart. Sedan fick jag något ryck och letade reda på mina stickor som jag visste borde ligga i en låda märkt “skrivbord” (superlogiskt, javisst), för nu skulle jag minsann prova att sticka disktrasor istället för att virka. Googlade och sökte på Ravelry efter något enkelt mönster där man bara behövde aviga och räta och det gick ganska fort att hitta ett mönster. Eller, det blev tre, Three easy pieces. Från i fredags tills idag (söndag) har jag redan stickat och maskat av två av dessa, och nu har jag börjat på ett annat tredje mönster. Sticka disktrasor var ju superkul! Det blev en med rätstickade ränder, en slätstickad med rätstickade kanter, och nu har jag påbörjat en som kallas “Grandmother’s favorite” (mönster). Bilder och mer information kommer i ett senare inlägg!

Nu har jag fastnat för stickning (i alla fall ett tag) så nu drömmer jag om att köpa alla möjliga slags stickor, garner och tillbehör. Först och främst vill jag verkligen lära mig sticka sockor, helst av det lite tunnare slaget. Jag har köpt lite nya stickor, lånat stickböcker på biblioteket och sitter och googlar och läser en hel del för att förbereda mig. Egentligen är det bara att köpa ett garn med passande stickor kvar, sen kan jag köra. Mitt problem är att det finns så många guider och mönster och varianter att jag vet inte alls var jag ska börja, jag vill ju ändå lära mig en ganska allmän metod som funkar till det mesta så jag inte behöver lära om tre gånger sen. Och så ska ju stickor och garn passa med mönstret så jag inte får en jättesocka eller babysocka… Snart tar jag väl mig själv i kragen och går till garnaffären och ber om hjälp helt enkelt :)

Stickningen gör ännu ingen större skillnad för min YOP-lista, jag har både stickade sockor och disktrasor på den redan, men jag räknar med att om en månad så kommer det finnas en hel del stickade projekt där också. Nu lämnar jag er med lite bilder på veckans alster!

Grandmother's favorite Garter border dishcloth Daisy chain and Old Vienna Sunshine lace, Seville and Alhambra

This week has been really lovely. I’ve had lots of time at work and been able to do some planning, even for next week! This also means I’m less tired now. It gets better :) Apart from working on my crochet blankets, I’ve taken a big step forward. I’ve started knitting! (Again. I’ve tried knitting before, but it ever really caught on). It started with a bamboo yarn I ordered that arrived early this week, Schachemayr’s Cotton Bamboo Batik. First I crocheted a key cosy to use for my keys at work, very practical but not very inspiring. Double crochet in spiral, done. I knew I had my knitting needles somewhere in a box marked “desk” (very logical, I know) and I just had to find them after this non-inspiring crochet project because I was going to knit som dishcloths instead of crocheting them. I googled and searched Ravelry for some easy patterns that just used knit and purl stitches and it was pretty quick to find one. Or three, Three easy pieces. Since Friday and until today (Sunday) I’ve knit and bound off two if these, and already started a third in a different pattern. Knitting dishcloths was really fun!  I made one with garter ridges, one in stockinette with garter edges, and now I’ve started one called “Grandmother’s favorite” (pattern). I’ll show you more pics and share some thoughts and info in a later post!

Now I’m all into knitting (at least for a while) so I dream of buying all sorts of needles, yarn and stuff. Firstly, I’d really like to learn to knit socks, preferably the lighter kind (more like sock yarn than worsted weight yarn). I have bought some new needles, borrowed some knitting books from the library and I’m searching Google and reading lots. I’m all prepared, apart from the fact I need to buy some yarn and double pointed needles to match. My main problem is that there are too many guides, tutorial and patterns, I don’t know where to start. I want to learn a basic vanilla sock variant, which I then can expand and develop to more complicated versions. And then yarn and DPNs need to work with the pattern so I don’t end up with giant or baby socks… Soon I’ll just send myself off to the yarn store to ask for help :)

Knitting haven’t caused any big changes to the YOP-list so far, knitted socks and dishcloths are both already on it, but I think there will probably be some additions in the coming months :) Check above for some pics of this week’s creations!

26 thoughts on “Sticka! / Knitting! (YOP #10)

  1. Love the knitted dishcloths, especially the one with variegated yarn………good luck with the sock knitting, it’s not as difficult as you may think, I’m sure you’ll soon get the hang of it and become quite addicted.

    • Variegated yarn looks so much better with knitting than crochet, I find! And definitely better with stockinette than garter. At least this yarn :)

      Thank you, I really hope I’ll get addicted and love it, then I’ll be able to make awesome socks like you all do ^^

  2. The knitting looks like it’s going really well! Love the dishcloths!

    I started knitting socks with a plain Regia pattern which came free with my yarn, but there are many vanilla patterns out there. My suggestion would be to just pick one and follow the instructions (even if they don’t always seem to make sense). It all works out in the end! And a first heel turn is seriously a magic moment

  3. Love the cloths, I’m a huge fan of cloths and am dipping into the designing of them. Grandmothers Favourite is my favourite and my go to pattern and works so well in plain and variegated.

  4. Knitting dishcloths is a great way to start. You can make scarves and even transfer over to cowls in the round besides hats. I suggest a baby sock pattern. I learned how to knit socks from Susan B. Anderson’s Jellybean Baby Socks which is free on Rav and verypink.com has great sock tutorial videos.

    • Thanks for your tips, I’ve bookmarked them :) Maybe you’re right, baby socks are easier to start with since they are smaller and you don’t get bored before finishing 2?

  5. I’m right there with you! I love the dishcloth patterns and I fav’d them in Ravelry. I haven’t been knitting that long and for socks I used the tutorials by Very Pink who is on Ravelry. You pay for them and the videos are on You Tube but they’re not very expensive and I was able to learn from her and understood it all between the pattern and her video demonstrations. She has Magic Loop and DPN’s and other tutorials too. She came highly recommended from someone else on Ravelry and I concur! Good luck!

    • Wow, two recommendations för verypink, I think I definitely should try her! Thank you :)
      I bookmarked both normal socks, toe up and toe up with magic loop for the future ^^ Now just to buy some worsted yarn and the right needles :)

  6. Congratulations! Your dish cloths look great. Socks aren’t that hard – it’s just the heel part that’s confusing. I didn’t take any special lessons, I just started with a DROPs pattern for simple ribbed socks. You can do it, especially if there are some folk at a local knitting shop who can help out if need be!

    • Thank you :)
      Do you remember which pattern you used? I’ve been looking at some DROPS patterns but most of them have something extra going on that I want to avoid while learning.

  7. I´m so excited, there will be sooo much fun with this knitting! Atm I´m knitting socks with yarn made by myself and using old needles not corresponding to my pattern and I do have a lot of fun. After finishing two pair of socks I realised I had to use size 10-12 years to get a pair in my size, he he he. Luckily my husband have bigger feet then me and can use my first two pairs. :-) To me the big challange was to understand the heel and why you do as you do. Once I got hold of it the rest was a piece of cake. :-D

  8. I love Grandmothers favourite – everyone will have that as a Christmas present. On the sock front, I bought Socktopus and it has lots of measurements and calculations for getting the right size sock. It looks impressive – I have yet to knit them however!!

Leave a Reply

