Ett nytt beroende / A new addiction (YOP #12)

YOP (3rd) Banner

(For English, click here)

Jag är förlorad, och det finns bara en väg nu och det är framåt, djupare och djupare in.

Jag menar alltså att jag har börjat köpa fina stickor och garner. Ännu en sak att samla på. Jag älskar ju att samla på fina saker och jag har svårt för att bryta ett set, måste ha alla. Nu är oskulden tagen och dammportarna har öppnats. Jag får hålla hårt i plånboken framöver :)

Tycker ni jag är kryptisk? Då ska jag förklara. Igår (lördag) gav jag mig ut på jakt efter en garnaffär som jag läst om på Facebook. Av det jag läst förstod jag att den här affären skulle innehålla garn och prylar av lite bättre kvalitet och det såg jag verkligen framemot. Det är många som säljer sådant, men inte lokalt. Jag har aldrig fått chans att klämma och känna förut :) Nu fick jag det! Gruvfruns Ullfröjd levde verkligen upp till förväntningarna. När jag först kom dit var jag skeptisk till om jag ens kommit rätt, affären ligger nämligen i ett litet hus i en trädgård mitt i ett bostandsområde, men oh så rätt jag hade kommit. Garnerna var underbara, prylarna fina och ägaren supertrevlig. De har också stickcaféer där på onsdagar, så jag ska försöka ta mig dit någon vecka här snart.

Jag hade kunnat spendera timmar där inne, men en timme fick räcka annars hade plånboken skrikit. Jag kom i alla fall ut därifrån med 200 g underbart garn och två uppsättningar fina rundstickor. Garnet är ett Malabrigo Sock i färgen Ivy, vilket är ett väldigt mjukt superwash merino, ganska tunt, i flammigt skogsgrönt/gulgrönt. Stickorna jag köpte är Knit Pro Symphonie och Nova. Symphonie är trästickor som man färgat i årsringarna, otroligt snygga. De köpte jag i storlek 4 mm, men jag köpte utbytbara. De säljs nämligen som separata tippar och separata kablar, så kan man mixa och matcha som man själv vill. Nova är fasta metallrundstickor som finns i mindre storlekar och passar bra till att sticka sockor på med magic loop-metoden (som jag hoppas på att lära mig innan nästa sommar).

Givetvis kunde jag inte vänta utan jag började på ett nytt projekt med mitt fina garn och mina nya stickor så fort jag kommit hem och googlat fram ett fint mönster. Det mönster jag hittade som jag fastnade för är Whippoorwill, ett hyfsat enkelt mönster som förhoppningsvis kommer visa garnet på ett fint sätt :) Whippoorwill såg jag först hos Crafts from the Cwtch och hennes är ju helt underbar så det kändes som ett bra val av mönster. Såhär ser det ut så långt:

Whippoorwill shawl

Det gpr sakta men säkert framåt (projektet på Ravelry), men eftersom jag aldríg hade gjort ökningar som inte var två maskor i en förut så fick jag repa upp och göra om några gånger innan det funkade. Färgen på bilden är inte helt perfekt så här är en bättre bild om man vill se garnets riktiga färg. Jag älskar både garnet och mönstret redan :)

I övrigt händer det inte så mycket, jag har gjort några nya rutor till min sampler, några rader på min tokiga randfilt och lite varv på min socka. Känns som jag aldrig blir klar, jag bara startar nytt hela tiden. Men så är det väl med stora projekt :) Nu lämnar jag er för att sticka vidare, så här får ni några bilder som avslut :)

Sock

Primrose and Sunray Winding yarn

In English

I now consider myself utterly and totally lost. There is simply no return.

I’ve started buying Knit Pro knitting needles and pretty yarn. I am a collector of pretty things and a completionist so from this, there is simply no way back.

Ok, no more doom in my voice, because I LOVE THIS. Yesterday (Saturday) I went in search for a LYS I’d found on Facebook that claimed to carry quality yarn and tools. That claim was not unfounded. The shop was a small shed in a backyard, but it held heavenly yarn and tools inside. And a very nice and helpful owner too! The shop is called “Gruvfruns Ullfröjd” (The Lady of the Mine’s Woolen Delights) and hints to the fact that Falun, where I live know, is an old mine town with a famous (at least nationally) copper mine.

I could have spent hours in there, but one hour had to be enough or I would have bought it all. I will definitely visit again :) The owner also holds knitting groups on Wednesdays which I’m hoping to visit sometime soon.

Back to my yarn and projects now, of course I bought some pretty stuff. She had lots and lots of lovely yarn, but I decided on two skeins of Malabrigo Sock in the colour ivy. They aren’t cheap, but they are so worth it. Since my sock adventure was so successful (still haven’t got to the toe though) I thought why not try something new. So I bought a pair of circulars for knitting a shawl :) Knit Pro Symphonie in size 4 mm and a 100 cm cable. As soon as I came home I started googling patterns and eventually decided on Whippoorwill. I think I first saw a Whippoorwill at Crafts from the Cwtch and hers is gorgeous so I couldn’t resist. I cast on immediately and this is the result so far:

Whippoorwill shawl

It’s coming along nicely (project page), although I had never done increases (M1) before so I had to rip it out and redo a few times before I got it. The photo doesn’t show the colour very well unfortunately so here’s a better pic. Loving it!

Apart from that, everything is more or less the same. I’ve done some more squares for my sampler, some rows on my mixed stripes and a few rounds on my sock. I’m not a big contributor in the FO department! I’ll leave you with a few progress pics and a view of my working desk, crammed with everything a girl can want.

Sock

Primrose and Sunray Winding yarn

24 thoughts on “Ett nytt beroende / A new addiction (YOP #12)

  1. Your yarn for your Whippoorwill has some beautiful shades of green, it will look quite beautiful when finished……..great progress on your stripey socks too.

  2. I love the sock yarn on the WIP. It is so bright and cheery. Your yarn for the Shawl is very nice and calming. It will be beautiful when completed. Congratulations for not buying out the entire LYS.

  3. Oh my! You have got the bug I think! I’ve been wanting to try some Malibrigo and you may have just pushed me over the edge on that one! It’s gorgeous and I too love that shawl pattern. Look at you go! You’re like a duck to water with all of this! You do such beautiful work and I do love those socks and that is done with one skein of yarn I see….that’s awesome! You inspire me that’s for sure! Always good to see you out here…I look forward to your posts! I’m glad I’m not the only “wordy” one! LOL! Have a great week!

    • Definitely got the bug! Can’t stop now :) Thank you for your nice comments, I don’t think I would have tried socks and knitting this early if I hadn’t had this group!
      I’d definitely recommend Malabrigo, lovely feel and colours. And I’d never have had the patience to knit those socks if those were different skeins of yarn!! Hehe. If there is one thing I hate it’s weaving in ends :P

      You all inspire me too, Sundays are fun days now when your posts get up :)

      I hope you have a great week too!

  4. Hooray for finding a new shop with lovely goodies in it! The art of knitting has come so far with such beautiful yarns and quality needles–which is why I agreed to try knitting 4 years ago! Your whipporwill is going to be gorgeous– Malabrigio is wonderful to work with.
    Have a wonderful, yarn filled week!
    *smiles*

  5. I have a pair of needles in every size (and several sizes with about 5 pairs), and yet I don’t use them. Instead I buy KnitPro needles in the size I need for the project. I love them so much, and I enjoying knitting with them so much more, so I don’t think it’s a waste! I have the sock DPNs, several sizes of interchangable and several fixed circulars

Leave a Reply

