[English] Monday again! (YOP #19)

YOP (3rd) Banner

So it’s Monday again and time for a Year of Projects update. How did this happen?! The weeks are just whooshing by, although I can’t say I’m not enjoying it. I love my everyday life very much; working, eating, crafting, sleeping. I’m project hopping a lot, reflecting my very restless nature and my state of mind at the moment. I’m working on just accepting and going with the flow.

I’m also thinking a lot about where I want to go next in my crafting adventure. Do I want to get better at focusing on a few WIPs? Do I want to join the Harry Potter Knitting and Crochet House Cup for real in January? Should I join the Kaleidoscope Club over at The Natural Dye Studio? Lots of questions, not many answers. I generally respond badly to restrictions and expectations of any kind, but at the same time both HPKCHC and the Kaleidoscope Club sounds like so much fun! I need more time before making any decisions :)

So, onto the Project Update! The Whippoorwill is finished and I’m loving it. It’s not as “substantial” (heavy, drapey) as I would have hoped, but it’s pretty and squishy and lovely all the same. I still need to block it, must remember to search for those blocking mats. The Kira has a head and hood, two legs and the start of a body. The lonely Regia sock is bound off and the second is started. These will be “Dobby socks” (made from different patterns) since my main purpose with knitting them was to learn different techniques.

I’ve bought some more “fluff” (I really don’t know the correct term..) in a pretty green shade, lightly variegated. It’s lovely to spin and more soft than I thought it would be. It will be interesting to find out the differences between this wool and the merino I already had :) I think that’s it, more or less. Still planning what to do with my leftover Malabrigo sock from Whippoorwill, but I might do lots and lots of hexipuffs just because they are so CUTE. We’ll see :)

I hope you’ll all have a great week!

6 thoughts on “[English] Monday again! (YOP #19)

  1. Wow … you are all over the place. I like the idea of Dobby socks – never heard that term before. For blocking mats I use those giant interlocking foam mats – we get them at department stores or even at home stores, usually very cheaply.

    • I learned the term for the socks in the HPKCHC forum on Rav :) Oh, I need to find those mats here, they should be common in children’s stores..

  2. I really love the Whippoowill, you did such an awesome job on it. I love this time of year for thinking and pondering, looking at where to go next, I think it’s the end of year approaching that makes us reflect and yet still look forward. All I can tell you is that I’ve been doing Floras and Billys and I’ve still managed to make those fit into HP classes in the group. So it is possible to play by twisting what you are making into a class or to read the clues and then make something either way is good as you don’t have to change what’s on your needles if you don’t want to and if your looking for something you wouldn’t normally do picking something to the clue is good for that. You can always compete again as a NQFY until you feel ready, when sorted your only obligation is to turn in one class a month.

    • I’m glad to hear it is possible to work it both ways, so to speak. Sometimes there’s just that perfect project for a prompt but mostly I have a lot of other projects planned instead and I don’t want to hinder my house!
      Thank you for your comment on the Whippoorwill :)

  3. I’m so excited to see the Kira! And I agree, hexipuffs are really cute! I’m happy for you that you’re enjoying your everyday life, and whatever next project or crafting adventure you chose I’m sure it’ll add to that happiness!

Leave a Reply

