[English] Yarn yarn yarn! (YOP #31)

YOP (3rd) Banner

Sunday! We’ve had a gloriously lazy weekend, bad weather just made for staying indoors in pyjamas all day. Everything is back to normal now after Christmas break, which means super busy at work and tired when I get home. I do get some crafting done though, but mostly of the relaxing kind. I have a quite a few longstanding WIPs but none of them are seeing any work, really, I’m just too tired to be inspired. Instead, I’ve finished two hats with the yarn I got for Christmas (Stormhatt, which I shared with you last week, and Windschief). They were both real comfort projects due to the yarn being super lovely.

As my new comfort project I started a Duotone cowl with my yarn from SweetGeorgia yarns. I was a bit sceptical when the skeins arrived because they didn’t feel as soft as I’ve been spoiled with by Malabrigo, and this, unfortunately, still holds. I’ve worked some 20 rounds now on the cowl and the yarn leaves a slight burning feeling in my fingers when I work with it. Very odd! I will move on with it though because I really like the colours and I’m hoping a wash when it’s finished will soften it up. This is the progress so far:

Duotone cowl

I also finished my first handspun yarns this week, a green single ply from Swedish sheep breeds and a 2-ply chocolate merino/silk blend. I’m still a newbie at spinning so they’re far from perfect, but it’s enjoyable all the same :)

Wålsteds Prisma green (just washed) Chokladgarn

The list

  • Finish my doily shawl
  • Finish my Stitch Sampler
  • Another lalylala-doll (first one finished July 2, Kira started November 1)
  • mixed stripes/sampler blanket in Stylecraft (project page)
  • A blanket inspired by Cherry Heart’s sampler blanket in Drops Safran (project page)
  • Finish the blanket for my sister and her fiancé
  • Add a border from ”Around the corner” to something
  • A bag or tote made of blocks (squares, hexagons..)
  • *NEW* Learn to make hats and mittens (Hats: Windschief and Stormhatt)
  • *NEW* Try spinning different kinds of wool (Done: Merino, Swedish breed mix)
  • Christmas gifts (not sure about this one)
  • Finish my Dahlia shawl (finished December 8)
  • Learn to knit socks (first pair finished)
  • Give wool yarn some love (finally convinced wool is lovely, mainly helped by spinning and Malabrigo)
  • Buy an expensive and luxurious yarn and find a project for it (Malabrigo sock and Whippoorwill!)
  • Something wearable for wrapping up at work (Honey cowl CO Nov 17, BO Dec 15)
  • A clothing item a little more complicated than a shawl/wrap (In threes cardigan, CO  Jan 1, BO Jan 6)
  • Try out different dishcloths (made A LOT of those, see the #dishcloth tag in my projects)
  • Learn some different sock techniques like toe up, magic loop and other heels/toes (Experimenting with socks from “Socks from the toe up”)
11 thoughts on “[English] Yarn yarn yarn! (YOP #31)

  1. That’s indeed a lovely yarn color, sorry to hear it’s hurting your hands! I did read somewhere about washing skeins of yarn before use to make the yarn softer.. Maybe you could do that with the skeins you haven’t touched yet?

  2. Malabrigo spoils you I always think for other yarns, I love to get my hands on it and I don’t near half often enough but like that when I move onto other yarns they just don’t compare. Love the spun yarns!

  3. Pingback: [English] February mush (YOP #32) | Ylvas hörna

Leave a Reply

