[English] Back to (almost) normal (YOP #36 #37 #38 #39 #40)

Well, hello there. Long time no see! I’m glad to be back blogging again after my long involuntary break. I’m less glad about going back to work tomorrow, but it was to be expected. :)

On 28 February, I found out I had retinal detachment and for the whole of March I was home from work getting several treatments and lots of rest. I wasn’t allowed to strain my eye for the most of it, which meant not too much crafting sadly! But on 1 April I got ok from the doctor, things were mostly back to normal and I could start reading, crafting and working again, although I still need to get new glasses. I’ve been crafting like mad this week! Ok, not really, but definitely enjoying my time off with time to craft.

What has happened since my last real update then? I can hardly remember! But the biggest thing has to be that I bought a spinning wheel :) I bought it in the last weekend of February really, but I’ve been out since then so I haven’t had a chance to tell you. I finally decided on an Ashford Traveller and I’m loving it! It’s so small and cute and I can spin with great speed, which has turned out a bit of a problem. I’m prone to run out of fiber quite often :P Here are most of my makes so far

Spinning collage

Handspun

I still haven’t figured out what I’d like to do with them, so maybe that’s for next year :) Apart from spinning, I’ve also been starting a few new items to knit and crochet and continued work on a few WIPs. The colour bomb stripy blanket is growing quite steadily as you can see below
Mixed stripes
It has had a few more rows added since I took this picture.

I’ve also started an Oak park and a Pogona, none of them finished. You can click through to Ravelry to see progress pics of those. I think that’s quite a good summary of what I’ve been up to this last month :) I will do a proper list update sometime later, when I’ve got my new glasses maybe.

I hope you’ve all been well and had wonderful Spring weather, will go to visit and catch up with as many as I can now :)

14 thoughts on “[English] Back to (almost) normal (YOP #36 #37 #38 #39 #40)

  1. It’s so good to have you back and, hopefully all better. But, my word you have been busy!! I love the wheel and your yarn looks fabulous, can’t wait to see what you make from it.

  2. Look at all that gorgeous handspun! if it’s about a DK or Worsted weight I’d be thinking hats and/or gloves. Just imagine how amazing it would be to give someone a set for Christmas, hand knit and from yarn that you spun! That’d be so awesome!

    Glad to hear you got the green light to get back to crafting. I think I’d be pretty antsy and fidgety without something to keep my hands busy!

    • I like that idea! Might try for some mitts/gloves :D I think my boyfriend is quite glad I’ve got the green light too, it’s not been all fun living with me these weeks :P

  3. Yay, welcome back! Happy to hear you’ve recovered and can craft, read and blog again! That spinnng wheel is gorgeous, I’d probably spend a lot of time on it too! And that colour bomb stripey blanket is looking amazing too, so happy and vibrant!

  4. Having had 2 eye operations and told I was going blind and they could only stop the damage but I would not get my eyesight back…….I am very happy for you! I had a miracle because shocking my doctors I got all my sight back better than it ever was! Nothing like regaining your eyesight to put things in perspective….literally! I have Graves disease (along with a few other auto-immune diseases) and it could come back, so every day that I am able to read and knit, crochet, enjoy nature, see my grandchildren’s pictures as they grow etc, I am extremely grateful. So happy for you that you are able to see and enjoy your hobbies and creativity.
    I would love to get a wheel some day and learn to spin my own yarn but I am really too busy with other things at the moment. You are doing great with your spinning. your yarns are lovely.
    Your blanket is gorgeous with your designs and colors. I want to do one of those. The shawl and scarf are really nice too. I like yours better than the originals from the pattern pictures. Keep healing, keep healthy, and keep happy!

    • Oh my god, I don’t know how I would react if they said I would turn blind! I’m glad you got better, even stopping the damage is a great thing! You definitely learn to enjoy life even more after something like this.

      And thank you! I’m loving spinning, it’s quite meditative :)

  5. That is such a happy and fun blanket. You are doing wonderfully on that project. Your spinning wheel is beautiful. Man, that wood rocks. The handspun I wanna touch and smoosh.

  6. And I forgot to say, eek! I know a few ppl who got retinal detachment. How scary for you. I’m glad you are well and healing on track now. And hoorah for being able to craft again! Yippee!

Leave a Reply

